This is an example of a HTML caption with a link.



Dr. S. S. Kadam, Ph.D.,FNAAS, FNABS
Member, RAB, WNRF &
Former Vice-Chancellor (MAU)
‘Sanmati’ House No. 569, (Survey No. 43) Pathare-Thube Nagar, Chandan Nagar,
Pune-411 014

M: 099228 70407



Date and Place of birth
Born in Wawarhire Tal –Man Satara, Maharashtra on 2 June 1947. 


  • Educated at S.S. High School Aundh 1961-65; College of Agriculture, Pune 1965-69; and Indian Agricultural Research Institute, 1969-75; B.Sc. 1969; M.Sc. 1971; Ph.D. 1975.
  • Dr. S .S. Kadam has traveled extensively throughout the world to U.K., Germany, Mexico and U.S.A. for research and education purpose.

Academic and Administrative positions held

  • Vice-chancellor, Marathawada Agricultural University, Maharashtra. Has worked in different capacities as
  • Professor, Food Science and Technology 1981-96; Head Biochemistry 1984-87; Head, Food Science, 1996-98; Associate Dean (PGI) 1998-2002; Director of Research 2002-2005; Dean, Faculty of Agriculture; Director of Instructions, 2000-2005, MPKV, Rahuri. 

Academic achievements

  • Guided more than 43 M.Sc and Ph.D students in Biochemistry,  Food science and Technology.
  • Authored 126 Research papers, reviews and  17 books.

Awards and Recognitions

  • Recipient  of “Certificate of Appreciation” from the  Department of Agriculture for his excellent Research.
  • Conferred with innumerable awards in the field of education, post harvest technology of fruits and vegetables by the Horticultural Society of India.
  • Fellow of National Academy of Agricultural Sciences, New Delhi
  • Fellow of National Academy of Biological Science
  • Dr. D.W. Rahudkar Prize, 1992;
  • Dr. J.C. Anand Gpld Medal, 1997.

Chairman/Vice-Chairman/Member- Technical Committees and Boards

  • Rendered  unique services as member of committees of  ICAR,  AICRP,  NAAS and other organizations
  • Member Executive Council 1Jan, 2004 to 31 Dec, 2006; Member Executive Council (Casual Vacancy) 1 Jan, 2002 to 31 Dec, 2003

Professional Societies and Academies

  • Member,  Executive Council, National Academy of Agricultural Sciences, New Delhi.
  • Organizing Secretary of Agricultural Science Congress.

<< back to page

© Copy rights 2006 All rights reserved