This is an example of a HTML caption with a link.



Dr. Kiri Singh, Ph.D., FNASc., FNAAS, FNABS
Chairperson, WNRF
President, ISNS

Former Chairman, Agricultural Scientists Recruitment Board, New Delhi,

Former Vice-Chancellor, NDUAT, Faizabad (UP),
HPKV – Palampur (HP) & IGKV, Raipur,

Former Secretary, National Academy of Agricultural Sciences, New Delhi


Date and Place of Birth

Born on 26 May, 1934 in Village Basgit of Tehsil Kerakat located in Jaunpur district of Uttar Pradesh

B.Sc. (Agriculture), Government Agricultural College, Kanpur (U.P.); MS, University of Florida, Gainesville, USA; Ph.D, University of Florida, Gainesville, USA.

Present Position
Chairperson, World Noni Research Foundation
President, International Society for Noni Science

Academic and Administrative Positions Held
Vegetable Specialist in Jammu & Kashmir, Srinagar (J&K); Associate Professor / Vegetable Botanist, PAU/HAU, Ludhinana / Hisar; Professor & Head, Department of Vegetable Crops / Horticulture, HAU, Hissar (Haryana); Dean of Agriculture, NDUAT, Faizabad (UP); Vice-Chancellor, NDUAT, Faizabad (UP); Vice-Chancellor, HPKV, Palampur (HP); Vice-Chancellor, IGKV, Raipur (Chhatisgarh); Chairman, ASRB, New Delhi; Chairperson, World Noni Research Foundation, Chennai

Academic Achievements
Guided 13 Ph.D. students; Developed several varieties and established agronomic practices in vegetable crops; Published over 100 Research Papers, 8 Review Papers, 2 Bulletins and 5 Books.

Awards and Recognition
Leorard Vaughan Award of American Society of Horticultural Science (1961); AISMAN Award of Seedsmen and Nurserymen Association of India (1986); Roll of Honour presented by Indian Society of Genetics and Plant Breeding (1991); R & D Linker Award of Indian Society of Extension Education (1991); Gold Medal from Horticultural Society of India (1993); Plaque and Certificate of Appreciation from Haryana Agricultural University on the occasion of Silver Jubilee Celebration (1994); Plaque and Certificate of Honour from Horticultural Society of Haryana (1995); Nemichand Shrishrimal Abhinandan Award (1995); Plaque and Certificate of Honour from Indian Society of Vegetable Science (1998); Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa ) from Tamil Nadu Agricultural University (2000); Gold Medal from PNASF, Bangalore (2002); Dr. M. S. Randhawa Memorial Award of National Academy of Agricultural Sciences (2003); Life Time Achievement Award by World Wellness Open University (2008); Purvanchal Ratna Award (2003); HSI-Shiva Sakthi Life Time Achievement Award (2008); Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa ) from Orissa University of Agriculture & Technology, Bhubaneswar (2010); Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa ) from Sardar Patel Datntiwad Agricultural University, Dantiwada, Gujarat (2011).

Chairman / Member of various Technical Committees and Boards

  • Deans' Committee of Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR)
  • ICAR QRT for CTCRI, Trivandram; CPRI, Shimla; CARI, Port Blair and All India Coordinated Vegetable Improvement Project (ICAR) and KVKs of Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand
  • Accreditation Board of ICAR
  • Editorial Board of ICAR Publications
  • ICAR Scientific Panel on Horticulture
  • Standing Policy Planning Committee of ICAR
  • Norms and Accreditation Committee of ICAR
  • ICAR Scientific Panel on Vegetable & Floriculture
  • ICAR Scientific Panel and High Power Committee on Agricultural Education
  • Interdisciplinary Scientific Panel (IDSP) under the World Bank-Supported Project (NARP) in ICAR
  • Horticulture Panel of Scientific and Technical Terminology Commission, Government of India
  • Working Group of Horticulture for 8th and 11th Five Year Plan, Planning Commission, Government of India
  • ICAR Committee for the Establishment of Project Directorate of Vegetable Research (Now Indian Institute of Vegetable Research) and NRC on Onion & Garlic
  • Advisory and Management Committee of NHRDF, Nashik
  • Research Advisory Committee of IIHR, Bangalore; IIVR, Varanasi: CPRI, Shimla; CTCRI, Trivandrum; and ICAR Research Complex for  Goa.
  • Specialist Panel on Food Sciences and Bioresources, DRDO, Ministry of Defense, Govt. of India.
  • Boards of Management of Orissa University of Agriculture & Technology, IARI, Jawaharlal Nehru Agricultural University, Jabalpur; Rajasthan Agricultural University, Bikaner; Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi and Central Horticulture Institute, Nagaland
  • High Power Committee of ICAR for Private Colleges in Agriculture
  • High Level Review Committee to Revamp Horticulture Tamil Nadu
  • Review Committee for Coconut Development Board, Govt. of India.
  • Detailed Project Report Committee for establishement of Central Horticulture Institute, Nagaland
  • Recognition committee of Mahatma Phule Kirshi Vidyapith, Rahuri (Maharashtra)             
  • Academic Council of IARI, New Delhi;  KKV, Dapoli; NDRI, Karnal; and BHU, Varanasi
  • Academic Advisory Committee of Academic Staff College of Osmaina University, Hyderabad.
  • Peer Review Committee of all four Agricultural University of Maharashtra, SDAU, Gujarat; PAU, Ludhiana and CAU, Imphal
  • Working group of Agricultural Research & Education, Eleventh Five Year Plan, Planning Commission, Govt. of India.

Professional Societies and Academies

  • Fellow of National Academy of Sciences, India; National Academy of Agricultural Sciences; National Academy of Biological Sciences;  Indian Society of Vegetable Science, Horticulture Society of India and Indian Potato Association
  • Former Secretary of National Academy of Agricultural Sciences.
  • Former  Member of the Council of International Society for Horticultural Science
  • Former President of Indian  Society of Vegetable Science
  • Former President of Horticultural Society of Haryana
  • Former Vice-President, Indian Potato Association
  • Former President of Indian Agricultural University Association
  • Former Member of Council, Association of Commonwealth Universities (1994-95), U.K.
  • Chief Patron, Indian Society of Vegetable Science
  • Senior Vice-President Horticultural Society of India
  • President, International Society for Noni Science

Representation as Expert Outside India

  • FAO Expert Consultation on Asian Net Work on Tropical Vegetables, Bangkok (1988)
  • International Workshop on Education & Training in Agro-forestry, University of Florida, USA (1998)
  • Regional Round Table Conference on Strategies for Agricultural Education and Training, Bangkok (1990)
  • Asian Vegetable Research Planning and Consultation Workshop, Islamabad, Pakistan (1990)
  • International Conference on “Agriculture, the Environment and Human Values” and workshop to explore strategy and management in relation to Agricultural Universities as key centers for rural development organized by the University of Western Sydney, Hawkesbury, Australia (1991).
  • Worked as an Adviser, Planning Commission, Government of Nepal for the establishment of University of Agriculture and Forestry (August 1995).
  • FAO Consultant in Cambodia (July 1999)
  • Represented National Academy of Agricultural Sciences in the Conference of Third World Academy of Sciences at Dakar, Senegal (November 2000)

Jaunpur Address
38-G, Maruti Nagar,
T.D. College Main Gate,
Jaunpur – 222 002, UP

Delhi Address
C-6 / 9766, Vasant Kunj
New Delhi – 110 070
Residence: (Jaunpur)  05452-260044 / (Delhi)011-46544581  
Mobile: 094156 87597

<< back to page


© Copy rights 2006 All rights reserved